Tags

, , , , ,

I just had to share this post that was featured on Apartment Therapy’s ReNest page last week:

Famous Writer’s Small Writing Sheds and Off-the-Grid Huts

What about you? Do you have a secret, private place in your home or work where you can create in harmonious isolation? I simply shut the door to my bedroom when my son has fallen asleep in his room at night, laptop warming my thighs, candles lit, coffee in hand. My high school summer job was a tour guide at a historical park, and in-between giving tours I would sit and write in the isolated, cool and dusty historic buildings. My favorite was an old train depot, I would sit in a wooden folding chair and describe the stark white of wood paneled walls and the weathered wood and glaucoma-fuzzy lights of the retired semaphore. Rainy days I could write for almost my entire shift (for few traveled to an outdoor museum in bad weather). It was lovely.

I’d love to hear if you have a secret, private space to create. Or if you don’t, what is it that you dream for?

xoxo,

Chrissy

